PSN Status DOWN – PlayStation Network Server not working for PS4 and Destiny 2 gamers

The PlayStation Network is having issues this morning with multiple reports of players experiencing a major server outage that’s preventing PSN online play.

The official website for PlayStation Network Service Status has confirmed the problems, with “Gaming And Social” the only services currently having troubles.

It also appears to only be impacting PS4 players and not PS3, PS Vita or fellow Sony services.

A message from the website reads:

“You may have some difficulty launching games, applications, or online features. Our engineers are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible, and we thank you for your patience.”

Website monitoring service, Down Detector, is also showing a big spike in complaints from people around the world who are experiencing issues across the PSN network.

The problems started roughly 3 hours ago and were addressed by the global Ask PlayStation Twitter account, who told followers:

“We are aware that some PS4 users have reported issues accessing PSN tonight. Thanks for your patience as we investigate.”

The AskPlayStation UK Twitter account echoed these statements, posting a few minutes ago:

“We’re aware that some users are experiencing issues logging into PSN. Thanks for your patience as we investigate”

It doesn’t appear an end to the problems is in sight and no indication has been made of what is causing the problems

The problem has arguably hit Destiny 2 fans the hardest, given that the game has only been out two days and Bungie’s shooter is reliant on a network connection to play.

“Presumably due to the strain of loads of people coming online for launch, the game is running into some issues,” argued GameSpot who were reporting on the issues overnight.

Bungie acknowledged one of the issues on Twitter, saying:

“We are investigating players on PlayStation 4 receiving errors indicating permissions to access online multiplayer may have changed.”

One error message that fans are being given reads:

“Your permission to access online multiplayer gameplay may have changed.”

Alternatively, the message also suggests it might be because “your profile may have been sign in elsewhere.”