Nintendo Reveals More Details On Splatoon 2’s Octo Expansion

Although it’s going to be a few months before the first paid DLC hits Splatoon 2, Nintendo has revealed more details about the Octo Expansion to fans on their official Japanese Twitter account.

First up – the protagonist of the Octo Expansion is called No. 10008, but they’ll be simply referred to as Agent 8. Due to a certain shocking event, Agent 8 has lost their memory and doesn’t know who they are and why they’re living in the underground. Agent 8 aims to escape from the underworld.


— Splatoon(スプラトゥーン) (@SplatoonJP) March 12, 2018

The story takes place deep underground in a giant experimental facility. It’s unclear who is the mastermind behind the facility, and the purpose behind building it. As it’s separated from the outside world, it seems time has stopped in this facility.


— Splatoon(スプラトゥーン) (@SplatoonJP) March 12, 2018

In the Octo Expansion, Pearl is called MC Princess while Marina is called DJ E-DA. The duo will assist in helping Agent 8 escape. The secret behind the formation of Off The Hook may be revealed during the story.

【オクト】私服姿もキマっている「ヒメ」a.k.a MC Princess、そして「イイダ」a.k.a DJ E-DA。

— Splatoon(スプラトゥーン) (@SplatoonJP) March 12, 2018

Agent 8 will face 80 tough courses as the story unfolds in the Octo Expansion. However, Off The Hook members Pearl and Marina can help players skip these difficult stages in order to proceed with the story. Players will still unlock the Octoling character even if they skip the stages.


— Splatoon(スプラトゥーン) (@SplatoonJP) March 12, 2018

Finally, Nintendo reveals that customization options for both Inklings and Octolings remain completely the same, so whatever you unlock for Octolings can be worn on Inkling and vice versa.


— Splatoon(スプラトゥーン) (@SplatoonJP) March 12, 2018